PGC policies for Covid 19 Protection Framework  at http://glidingmatamata.co.nz/about/covid_19/

Visitors with vaccination certificate welcome!:)

Trial Flights & Gift Vouches


Fly with an experienced, qualified instructor. Suitable for young and old, 10 - 80!
Give a Trial Flight Voucher to someone keen on learning to fly!
More about Trial Flights & Gift Vouchers »

Weather & Webcams

New! Kaimai Weather Station & Cam

Webcam Timelapse

Click to view larger. Looking SE towards Matamata.
Click to view larger. Looking North towards Te Aroha.

Weather Links


RASP Forecast
Metservice Matamata Forecast
MetVUW Forecast Charts

Handy Links


Glider Tracking
Matamata Soaring Center
Gliding New Zealand
WentFlying pilot logbook

Gliding Clubs


Auckland Aviation Sports Club, Whenuapai
Auckland Gliding Club, Drury
Tauranga Gliding Club
Taupo Gliding Club
Vintage Kiwi Glider Club


Come Soaring With


        Piako Gliding Club

If you’ve ever dreamed of flying, gliding is for you! We fly all year around, and visitors are welcome any time.


Book a Flight

We fly most non-raining Saturdays, Sundays and Wednesdays. Trial flights & vouchers can be booked any day unless otherwise mentioned.

   Date Details Book
Sat 22nd Jan 22 GNZ Nationals
Flying from 9am
XP not available
6 Bookings
Book
Sun 23rd Jan 22 Nationals
Flying from 10am
XP not available
Book
Mon 24th Jan 22 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Nationals
1 Booking
Book
Tue 25th Jan 22 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Nationals
Book
Wed 26th Jan 22 Nationals
Flying from 11am
XP not available
2 Bookings
Book
Thu 27th Jan 22 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Nationals
Book
Fri 28th Jan 22 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Nationals
Book
Sat 29th Jan 22 Nationals
Flying from 10am
XP not available
1 Booking
Book
Sun 30th Jan 22 Nationals
Flying from 10am
XP not available
1 Booking
Book
Mon 31st Jan 22 Nationals
1 Booking
Book
Wed 2nd Feb 22 Flying from 10am
XP not available
Book
Sat 5th Feb 22 Flying from 9am
XP not available
Book
Sun 6th Feb 22 Flying from 9am
XP not available
Book
Mon 7th Feb 22 Flying from 9am Book

Find the full roster here

Where to find us


Matamata Aerodrome, 9km north of Matamata town, Waikato, New Zealand. About 40 minutes drive from Hamilton View map...