Covid-19

The gliding club is now closed like the rest of New Zealand. See you on the other side!

Try Gliding from $140


Fly with an experienced, qualified instructor. Suitable for young and old, 10 - 80!
More about Trial Flights »

Vouchers


Give a Trial Flight Voucher to someone keen on learning to fly!
More about Vouchers »

Weather & Webcams

New! Webcam Timelapse

Click to view larger. Looking SE towards Matamata.
Click to view larger. Looking North towards Te Aroha.

Weather Links


RASP Forecast
Metservice Matamata Forecast
MetVUW Forecast Charts

Handy Links


Glider Tracking
Matamata Soaring Center
Gliding New Zealand
WentFlying pilot logbook

Gliding Clubs


Auckland Aviation Sports Club, Whenuapai
Auckland Gliding Club, Drury
Tauranga Gliding Club
Taupo Gliding Club
Vintage Kiwi Glider Club


Come Soaring With


        Piako Gliding Club

If you’ve ever dreamed of flying, gliding is for you! We fly all year around, and visitors are welcome any time.


Book a Flight

We fly most non-raining Saturdays, Sundays and Wednesdays. Trial flights & vouchers can be booked any day unless otherwise mentioned.

   Date Details Book
Wed 22nd Apr 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying cancelled Covid - 19 Lockdown
Flying from 12pm
1 Booking
Book
Sat 25th Apr 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
ANZAC Day Flying from 12MD
Book
Sun 26th Apr 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 11am
Book
Wed 29th Apr 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 12pm
Book
Sat 2nd May 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 11am
Book
Sun 3rd May 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 11am
Book
Wed 6th May 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 12pm
Book
Sat 9th May 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 11am
Book
Sun 10th May 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 11am
Book
Wed 13th May 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 12pm
Book
Sat 16th May 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 11am
Book
Sun 17th May 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 11am
Book
Wed 20th May 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 12pm
Book
Sat 23rd May 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 11am
Book

Find the full roster here

Where to find us


Matamata Aerodrome, 9km north of Matamata town, Waikato, New Zealand. About 40 minutes drive from Hamilton View map...