Trial Flights & Gift Vouches


Fly with an experienced, qualified instructor. Suitable for young and old, 10 - 80!
Give a Trial Flight Voucher to someone keen on learning to fly!
More about Trial Flights & Gift Vouchers »

Weather & Webcams

New! Kaimai Weather Station & Cam

Webcam Timelapse

Click to view larger. Looking SE towards Matamata.
Click to view larger. Looking North towards Te Aroha.

Weather Links


RASP Forecast
Metservice Matamata Forecast
MetVUW Forecast Charts

Handy Links


Glider Tracking
Matamata Soaring Center
Gliding New Zealand
WentFlying pilot logbook

Gliding Clubs


Auckland Aviation Sports Club, Whenuapai
Auckland Gliding Club, Drury
Tauranga Gliding Club
Taupo Gliding Club
Vintage Kiwi Glider Club


Come Soaring With


        Piako Gliding Club

If you’ve ever dreamed of flying, gliding is for you! We fly all year around, and visitors are welcome any time.


Book a Flight

We fly most non-raining Saturdays, Sundays and Wednesdays. Trial flights & vouchers can be booked any day unless otherwise mentioned.

   Date Details Book
Sat 23rd Oct 21 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying cancelled due to rough weather
Limited Club OPs from 11am
6 Bookings
Book
Sun 24th Oct 21 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Limited Club OPs from 11am
Book
Mon 25th Oct 21 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying maybe? Subject to instructor availability.
Book
Wed 27th Oct 21 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 11am. Hopefully Covid level allowing?
Book
Sat 30th Oct 21 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 11am
Book
Sun 31st Oct 21 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 11am
Book
Wed 3rd Nov 21 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 12pm
Book
Sat 6th Nov 21 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 11am
Book
Sun 7th Nov 21 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 11am
Book
Wed 10th Nov 21 Flying from 11am Book
Sat 13th Nov 21 Flying from 11am Book
Sun 14th Nov 21 Flying from 11am
1 Booking
Book
Wed 17th Nov 21 Flying from 12pm Book
Sat 20th Nov 21 Flying from 11am Book

Find the full roster here

Where to find us


Matamata Aerodrome, 9km north of Matamata town, Waikato, New Zealand. About 40 minutes drive from Hamilton View map...