Covid-19

Flying for club members only starting Saturday 16th weather dependant. Please check out our  Alert Level 2 Procedures.  Please make bookings and check the roster.

All vouchers will be honoured after expiry dates

AGM 20 June 2020 - Remits to Secretary by 6 June

Lockdown Videos - All available on our YouTube Channel

Try Gliding from $140


Fly with an experienced, qualified instructor. Suitable for young and old, 10 - 80!
More about Trial Flights »

Vouchers


Give a Trial Flight Voucher to someone keen on learning to fly!
More about Vouchers »

Weather & Webcams

New! Webcam Timelapse

Click to view larger. Looking SE towards Matamata.
Click to view larger. Looking North towards Te Aroha.

Weather Links


RASP Forecast
Metservice Matamata Forecast
MetVUW Forecast Charts

Handy Links


Glider Tracking
Matamata Soaring Center
Gliding New Zealand
WentFlying pilot logbook

Gliding Clubs


Auckland Aviation Sports Club, Whenuapai
Auckland Gliding Club, Drury
Tauranga Gliding Club
Taupo Gliding Club
Vintage Kiwi Glider Club


Come Soaring With


        Piako Gliding Club

If you’ve ever dreamed of flying, gliding is for you! We fly all year around, and visitors are welcome any time.


Book a Flight

We fly most non-raining Saturdays, Sundays and Wednesdays. Trial flights & vouchers can be booked any day unless otherwise mentioned.

   Date Details Book
Sat 30th May 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 11am Level2 protocols in place
1 Booking
Book
Sun 31st May 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 11am
Book
Mon 1st Jun 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 11am Level2 protocols in place
Book
Wed 3rd Jun 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 12pm Level2 protocols in place
Book
Sat 6th Jun 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 11am Level2 protocols in place
Book
Sun 7th Jun 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 11am
Book
Wed 10th Jun 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 12pm
Book
Sat 13th Jun 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 11am
Book
Sun 14th Jun 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 11am
Book
Wed 17th Jun 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 12pm
Book
Sat 20th Jun 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 11am
Book
Sun 21st Jun 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 11am
Book
Wed 24th Jun 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 12pm
Book
Sat 27th Jun 20 Sorry no trial flights or vouchers today
Flying from 11am
Book

Find the full roster here

Where to find us


Matamata Aerodrome, 9km north of Matamata town, Waikato, New Zealand. About 40 minutes drive from Hamilton View map...